The Steve Brown IMPC Awards of Excellence

In 2017, the International Mouse Phenotyping Consortium –IMPC introduced the IMPC Award of Excellence to recognize outstanding contributions from scientists in the IMPC consortium that exemplify exceptional service to the IMPC program.

Originally awarding the prize to one scientist annually, a total of three awards were introduced in 2019. In circumstances where there is a tie in voting, a fourth award may be given.

In 2022 the Awards were renamed to “The Steve Brown IMPC Awards of Excellence” in recognition of Professor Brown’s decade-long chairmanship, dedication and leadership to the IMPC.

So far, a total of fifteen scientists from three continents have been presented with this award in recognition of their work and commitment towards the IMPC goals and aspirations. Their names are presented below.

The IMPC will continue to recognize the dedication and enthusiasm of scholars for the future excellence awards!

Year Award Winner(s) and Affiliation at time of award
Undisclosed recipient
Professor Steve Brown

Director, MRC Harwell, Oxfordshire, UK1

Professor Martin Hrabe de Angelis

Director Helmholtz Munich, Professor Technical University Munich, Director of the Institute of Experimental Genetics Helmholtz Munich, Germany

Dr. Lauryl Nutter

Director, Research & Technology Development, The Centre for Phenogenomics-TCP, Toronto, Technical Innovation Investigator, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada

Dr. Terry Meehan

Principle Investigator & Coordinator, EMBL-European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, Cambridgeshire, UK2

Professor Yuichi Obata

Director, Riken BioResource Research Center, Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan

Dr. Ann Flenniken

Associate Director, The Centre for Phenogenomics, Sinai Health, Toronto, Canada

Dr. Luis Santos

Bioinformatics Lead Data Wrangler, MRC Harwell, Harwell, Oxfordshire, UK3

Undisclosed recipients (joint award)
No awards made
Professor Yann Hérault

Director, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, DRCE, Institut de Génétique, Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire (IGBMC), Professor Université de Strasbourg, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (UMR7104), Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale (U1258), Strasbourg, France

Professor Colin McKerlie

Senior Associate Scientist Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Professor University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Dr. Nadine Spielmann

Institute of Experimental Genetics, Helmholtz Zentrum Munich, Munich, Germany

Undisclosed recipient
Professor Je Kyung (JK) Seong

Professor Seoul National University, Director of Korea Mouse Phenotyping Center (KMPC), Seoul, South Korea

Dr. Jacqui White

Director – Center for Biometric Analysis The Jackson laboratory (JAX) Director – Scientific Services JAX MG, Bar Harbor, Maine USA

Dr. John Seavitt

Assistant Professor, Baylor College of Medicine (BCM), Houston, Texas, USA4

Present Affiliations

1 Visiting Scientist, Insitut Clinique de la Souris -ICS, Strasbourg, France

2 Associate Director, Informatics Project Management, Sanofi, Cambridge, UK

3 Senior Data Wrangler , Data for Research Programme, The Alan Turing Institute, London, UK

4 Associate Director Preclinical Studies, Rare Disease Translational Center, The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine, USA